Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 21

Thread: Stemming now added to V6!

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Do you plan stemming for czech language? Thank you for answer.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    4,391

    Default

    Not at the moment.
    Hasn't been any demand.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    1

    Default

    Just updated to version 6. One issue with the stemming feature I am finding is with highlighting. If I search for a word like domain, I get pages with both domain and domains. This is expected. However, if I click on a result that takes me to a page with domains, there is no highlighting on the page. Has anyone else mentioned this? The only way I have found to make sure the page shows highlighting is to disable stemming which defeats the purpose.

    Thanks.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    4,038

    Default

    Yes, it is mentioned under "Known limitations" here:
    http://www.wrensoft.com/zoom/support...ht.html#limits

    There is no practical/efficient way to get the "jump to highlighting" script (which is a small JavaScript that runs on each of your content pages) to perform stemming, or to pass it a list of all the matches found on that page. So unless we blow out the complexity of that highlighting script (such that it has a stemming algorithm and we perform a stemming comparison against every word on the page -- this is really not wise considering the script is to be integrated to every page on so many different websites -- many of which have alot of other JS running already and it may conflict in functionality not to mention execution time).

    As noted, we simply cannot "highlight" every occurrence that is considered by the actual indexing and matching algorithm (which is much more complicated and has much more resources available, there is also synonyms and diacritics, etc.), without costing elsewhere (e.g. script complexity, more integration problems, larger download per page and so slower access times, etc.).

    So the jump to highlighting script serves as a highlight of some occurrences, not as an accurate representation of what have been matched.
    --Ray
    Wrensoft Web Software
    Sydney, Australia
    Zoom Search Engine

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Ho Chi MInh
    Posts
    3

    Default

    dear admin.
    I would love to use this V6 version, but need some support when used.
    please tell me Vietnamese language support v6?
    A Nice Day.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    4,391

    Default

    V6 is now old. In case you didn't notice this post was started 2 years ago.

    You can add your own language translations from the languages configuration window.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Does that mean that the stemming function does not work for Chinese as well?

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    4,391

    Default

    The whole concept of Chinese language stemming doesn't really make sense (as far as I know).

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    4,038

    Default

    There are no plurals or past and present tense in Chinese. And these are the main issues that stemming addresses.
    --Ray
    Wrensoft Web Software
    Sydney, Australia
    Zoom Search Engine

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    6

    Default

    I would like to know which the 16 languages are that stemming works for. Couldn't find it in the article. I think it's a great feature

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •