No announcement yet.

New user wants to "Skin" the results layout with my website header and footer

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New user wants to "Skin" the results layout with my website header and footer

OK, I have a test page posted and I've used the CSS FAQ to modify the appearance of search results. But I cannot figure out how to put my website header and footer on the results page. I am not a developer or programmer, I am a web content manager who wants to add a non-Google search engine to my website.

So far, I tried pasting my header and footer code into the search_template.html and to the search.php files with no success. Here is my test page http://www.biocius.com/co/partners_zoom.html. If you search for "rf 200" you can see how my results look -- just missing the website look and feel.

Would anyone be able to point me in the right direction to read how to do this? and please don't tell me I need to create a javascript include file, because although I know what this is I have absolutely no idea how to do it and no one here who knows either.

There are several methods.

But the easiest is to just include your HTML header and footer code in the search_template.html file.

I tried pasting my header and footer code into the search_template.html
    I had a look in your file, but didn't see any HTML code that looked like it might be a header or footer.

Comment

To explain it another way (that hopefully is easier to comprehend for you given that you have little web authoring experience as you say), consider how you would normally add a new page to your website.

Do this, and make the new file in the "search" subfolder you have already created. Name (or rename) this file as "search_template.html". Then add a single line:

<!--ZOOMSEARCH-->