Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• problems getting started with ASP.NET option

Greetings -
    I'm very new to this, so please bear with me as I try to climb the learning curve . . .

I want to use Zoom Search with RoboHelp WebHelp output. I got started using the JavaScript option and that seemd to work fine. I got a search.js file and was able to open it, to search for terms and to get results. (At this point, I'm working only with the Zoom Search files - I haven't progressed to linking it to the WebHelp output itself.)

Next, I moved on to the ASP.NET option because we want to have context descriptions appear on the results page. One of our developers followed the instructions in the user guide to set up the server (installed the active controls). Then I ran the indexer and got the following files in the specified output folder:
    - settings.zdat
    - search_template.html
    - zoom_dictionary.zdat
    - zoom_wordmap.zdat
    - zoom_pagetext.zdat
    - zoom_pagedata.zdat
    - zoom_pageinfo.zdat

Should there also be a search.aspx file? When I open the search_template.html file, all I see is the following text:

Search this site
    Enter one or more keywords to search for using the Zoom Search Engine.
    Note that '*' and '?' wildcards are supported.

The field for entering the search terms, the Submit button and the other search options are missing. Do I need to modify the search_template.html file in some way? I don't see anything in the user guide or the FAQs that addresses this issue for the ASP.NET option, so I'd appreciate any help that you can offer.

Everyone is looking forward to having better search functionality and excited about the capabilities that Zoom Search offers, so I really want to get this working as soon as possible. Thanks for your help!