PassMark Logo
Home » Forum

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

How do you get search results on new web page alongside other html (Newbie)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How do you get search results on new web page alongside other html (Newbie)

Hi,

I'm new to Zoom and am not too experienced at HTML/CSS so please be gentle with me!!! I'm using javascript at present because i'm developing the web site locally first. I've created a simple search form on my home page as follows:

<div id="sitesearch">
    <!-- Site Search-->
    <form method="GET" action="site_search_local/search.html" class="sitesearchform">
    <table cellspacing="0" cellpadding="0" width="200" border="1">
    <tr class="sitesearch">
    <td class="searchfixedtext" width="50"><b>Search...</b></td>
    <td class="searchtext" value="" width="140"> <input name="zoom_query" type="text" size="22"> </td>
    <td class="searchimage"> <input type="image" src="liveimages/search.gif" </td>
    </tr>
    </table>
    </form>

<script language="text/javaScript">
    ZoomSearch();
    </script>
    <noscript>
    You must have JavaScript enabled to use this version of the search engine.
    </noscript>
    </div>

The home page obviously contains menus and content etc. The search form works in that it produces the correct search results. However, the results are presented in the same window but the page is refreshed (ie previous menus and other home page details no longer displayed). I understand how to modify the CSS to get the results presented in the style you want but I just can't grasp how to get the results to load in a new web page (ie I want the results to appear in a seperate web page, which also has the main menus etc on.)

I've tried modify search.html (in output directory) to include the menus and other content but it doesn't work (doesn't load results page, relative url's now wrong)