Preinstalled plugins in ZOOM Version 7

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Preinstalled plugins in ZOOM Version 7

Hi! I am a newbie to this forum I have studied about what are all the changes and updates done in the version 7 I came to know from the following link: http://www.wrensoft.com/zoom/whatsnew.html
    My doubt is In that it is given as "Built-in Plugin support" what does it meant? I need to know what are all the plugins will be pre-installed in the browser? Could anyone know what are all the plugins will be pre-installed in the browser.

The plugins are used by the Zoom Indexer application and are not installed to your Browser. For some file formats, Zoom uses external applications (i.e. plugins ) to index various file formats (e.g. Adobe Acrobat PDF files). You can find the the plugins that Zoom uses in the "C:\ProgramData\Wrensoft\Zoom Search Engine Indexer V7\plugins" directory.

Comment

While the plugins were optional (and installed separately) in the previous versions of Zoom (V6 etc.), the current version (V7) has them all pre-installed and built-in. So you don't really have to concern yourself with them.

Basically, this feature just means that the current version supports indexing non-text file formats like PDF, DOC, XLS, PPT, etc. with no extra requirement on your part. You just have to select these formats in the wizard or add them to the scan extensions list under "Configure"->"Scan options".
      --Ray
      Wrensoft Web Software
      Sydney, Australia
      Zoom Search Engine

Comment

Hi! ray and richard thanks for both of your reply. Richard have told that in the latest version for some file formats such as PDF, external extensions can be used to index those files but ray had told that no extra requirements needed to ndex non text file formats like PDF. I am really confused on both of your explanations could anyone please explain me clearly as I am a new bie I need some brief explanation please don't mistake me.

Comment